What if there is a God, and ALL religion is false?

I have occasionally heard the argument “what have you got to lose?” as a reason to accept Christianity.  I’m not sure that’s such a wise idea.

What if religions are all false but there is a God using them as a test to see who really takes the time to be mindful about existence?

What if those who choose religion are the ones who are sent to Hell for accepting false beliefs?

By accepting Christianity and not properly testing its claims, you could have everything to lose.

This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What if there is a God, and ALL religion is false?

  1. chicagoja says:

    What if there is a God but he is infinitely incomprehensible? Then all religion would be guesswork, at best. Actually, what else could an infinite entity be that exists beyond space and time. For that reason, even science can’t prove or disprove the existence of God. How is religion any different?

  2. Neil Rickert says:

    What if there is a God,

    I have not ruled out that possibility.

    and ALL religion is false

    I take that to be almost certainly true.

  3. What if there is a God, and religion is just a way to reach said God? In this case, many approaches, or many religions, are valid. The danger is when people think they know the only truth. If you take your religion as a path up a mountain, understanding there are other religions, or paths, up that mountain, is there any harm?

    • jasonjshaw says:

      This is true, but in doing so you would need to overlook passages in Holy books that suggest there is only one path up that mountain.

      • chicagoja says:

        What if there is a God, but just not the god of your religion? What if there is a God, but just not of any religion?

      • jasonjshaw says:

        Definitely a possibility, one that we should keep in mind.

      • Yes. I also overlook passages where God wages war on societies and women are traded as sex slaves to Egyptian pharaohs. I stayed away from my Catholic faith for a long time because of these things; I felt that it was all or nothing. Then I realized nothing in my life is perfect, and it’s up to me to make of things whatever I want them to be. It’s up to me to be the kind of Christian I think Christians should be. I’ve picked up the Bible again. Some stuff I like, some stuff I don’t. I’m glad I can at least reap the value of the good things in there.

      • jasonjshaw says:

        For sure, there is often value in all literature as to what is good and not good, whether it be fiction or non-fiction. I agree that there are some great concepts presented in the Bible, as well as very questionable content.

  4. nikeyo says:

    This is pretty much my #1 reason for abstaining from belief. I believe questioning and inquiring into the essence of our existence to be truly living. The unexamined life is simply not worth living… and merely accepting a religion as absolute is to take a back seat, imho.

Leave a Reply

