Video: How Bible stories were easily exaggerated

The human memory is a troublesome thing.  Even in this age of readily available information, great quotes can be wrongly attributed to people who do great things in a short period of time.

Case in point, author John Green – who even believed himself that he wrote a quote that he actually didn’t:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVN9nenCGwM#t=206

It stands to reason that mythology could have easily been intertwined with the story of the real Jesus in a time when fact-checking was not easily done, as it happens now when it is easily done.

Be cautious about trusting the Bible completely.  Test everything, hold on to what is good.

This entry was posted in Illusion of Truth? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Video: How Bible stories were easily exaggerated

  1. Haha! I enjoyed the video. Yeah, I am not sure I even believe Jesus was a real person. Maybe I should trust scholars on this one – most of them believe Jesus at least existed – but I feel like he might simply be a representation of the many “christs” that lived during his time. Many Christians do not realize that in Jesus’ time, there were many people going around claiming to be the son of God, or at least special in some kind of spiritual, performer of miracles kind of way. The sad thing is that most, if not all, pastors learn this in school…but they would probably be fired if they mentioned it while preaching. I might eventually write a post about many things pastors learn in school but do not preach…

    • jasonjshaw says:

      A key thing that suggests to me that Jesus could very well have been an actual person is the length of time he was on the cross – or lack thereof. The Biblical crucifixion account leaves opportunity for the possibility of human survival. I find that calls into question both Jesus’ divinity and the notion that he is entirely fictional.

      • Oh yeah! I suppose I have not given that much thought. What do you mean by it leaving opportunity for the possibility of human survival though?

      • jasonjshaw says:

        Jesus was only on the cross for between 3 and 6 hours due to preparations for passover, I believe. Jesus sure timed his crucifixion right so he wouldn’t be left up there for days.

        Here’s the post I made on it with a thorough link figuring Jesus’ time on the cross to likely be only 3 hours.

        https://christianitysimplified.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/why-was-jesus-on-the-cross-for-only-3-hours/

      • Okay, I think I kind of get what you are saying! Again, not something I have given much thought. 😛

      • jasonjshaw says:

        I actually just caught a show on TV last night where they used the only remnants of a crucifixion to figure that the crosses people were crucified on were more likely X-shaped! The nail in the ankle bone that they found was not long enough to go through both feet. Interesting stuff!

      • No way! Interesting for sure.

      • jasonjshaw says:

        Totally! And apparently the trees in the area weren’t all that tall, so the tall crosses typically depicted don’t seem reasonable, while these small X-shaped ones would be easy to be set-up and utilized.

        I’m trying to dig up the info online, it was on a Canadian TV show called “Museum Secrets” and an episode about secrets in an Israel Museum. I can find stuff showing the nail through the bone pretty easily, but the rest of that segment that talks about the X-crucifix I seem to be coming up empty with.

      • Wow!

        And haha, we’re about to get into an entirely new discussion about how textbooks, documentaries, and the like are necessary because not EVERYTHING is readily available on on the internet, at least not in the form of a reliable source!

  2. Arkenaten says:

    I read that wood was scarce and had to be retrieved from up to ten miles away.
    There is also a suggestion that the feet were placed either side of the central pole and the condemned person stood on a horizontal ‘perch’ and two nails were used, thus a 4.5 (?) inch nail would have sufficed.
    I forget the source where I read this.
    Pilate was surprised by JCs quick demise, but if he were suspended without rope or rope only on the wrists and no ”saddle”, ( that small seat half way up the pole) and depending on how bad the scourging was , how much trauma, blood loss etc, he might well have succumbed quickly. It is believed most victims died of suffocation.

    • jasonjshaw says:

      But if Jesus was suffocating or weak from trauma/blood loss, how was he able to call things out so well immediately before he supposedly died? Seems a bit overly dramatic to be the actual end of his life … and possibly knowing that leg breaking was coming soon, he would have had to do something to try to avoid having that happen to him. It raises questions at the very least.

      • Arkenaten says:

        Well, I can offer a ‘sort of’ comparison.
        I ran Comrades marathon ( 93kms) three times and blew it the first two. On my third attempt and almost dead on my feet, I had nine minutes before the cut off but ran the final kilometer in 5 minutes 42 seconds; which was my fastest km of the entire race. I was so scared I would not finish in time I nearly overdosed on adrenalin.

        I am not saying I disagree , Jason. Bear in mind I think the entire story is a crock.
        The character is simply a narrative construct.

      • jasonjshaw says:

        Yeah, if it is purely a narrative construct, then none of it matters anyways. They could have at least constructed a narrative that made sure he was good and dead though! The Gospel of John writer at least tried by adding in the spear to the side!

        And 93 kms? I have a hard enough time psyching myself up to drive that far! Impressive!

      • Arkenaten says:

        ”John” is the worst. An abject liar.
        I know you have read it before but it;s worth another look.

        http://jerichobrisance.com/2014/03/20/pontius-our-pilot-part-1/

        You’ve never head of the Comrades Marathon?
        Google it. One of the most famous ultras in the world.

Leave a Reply

