Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep

The power of prayer – and the powerlessness of prayer. An example of how prayer is more centred around your own thoughtfulness and direction.

Out From Under the Umbrella

Photo Credit: Ruth Photo Credit: Ruth

 
I pray the Lord my soul to keep,
If I should die before I wake,
I pray the Lord my soul to take.
 

Prayer.  It’s supposed to change things.

“Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

Elijah was a human being, even as we are. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years. Again he prayed, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its crops.” James 5:16-18

When I was a Christian I prayed every day.  Several times throughout the day.  Before I got out of bed I started praying. I talked to my imaginary friend about, well,  everything.  I could tell him anything.  Why not?  He…

View original post 566 more words

This entry was posted in Perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep

  1. Strewth says:

    I am a believer in telepathy, not transmission of words or clear cut thoughts, but feelings, intentions, particularly if strong. I believe science will find a mechanism for this. Whether it works or not depends at least on the sender and receiver, and how heart felt it is, and probably other influences I’m unaware of – and I believe that prayer is attempted telepathy.

    It doesn’t need God to make it work, but it doesn’t have to discount God either.

Leave a Reply

