5 Things I’ve Learned From Religion

Some interesting points about religion!

For Your Thoughts

I’ve gone from Fundamental Christianity, to agnostic, to new Atheist, and now to A-theistic A-gnostic. I use the hyphens in my current designation to bring attention to the basic meaning of the words. Basically, I don’t have a Theistic system I follow and I don’t claim to know jack.

I’ve gone through these phases by studying, reading, and conversing with leaders and followers of all types ( I call these ventures my field studies). After coming through all these titles to a less aggressive and open not knowing shit stance, I’ve had time to reflect, humbly and honestly, on what I have learned from religion.

1. You Reap What’s Been Sown

Ah, the Parable of the Sower (Matthew 13) paired with “You reap what you sow. (Galatians 6:7). This was a favorite of my farmer-turned-Pastor’s weekly sermons. The farming metaphor was drilled so far into my mind that it will…

View original post 645 more words

This entry was posted in Perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5 Things I’ve Learned From Religion

  1. nikeyo says:

    Thanks for the reblog! 😀 Glad you enjoyed it that much.

  2. When we use the phrase, ” We reap what we sow”, we are essentially emphasizing that we become responsible for the consequences of our actions. Then what is it that makes so many of us move into a victim mindset when things do not work out the way we had thought they would? But as we get into this ‘victim’ mode, we play the blame game and increasingly lose control over further options and possibilities that may exist. So what would you say is the way forward?

    Shakti

  3. Strewth says:

    But it is not always obvious that we reap what we sow. Good often seems to be unrewarded, the selfish often seem to prosper. It doesn’t play out in one life time, we have to look at it over a number before we can realise that, at least sometimes, the effects of our actions are delayed.

  4. Strewth says:

    Readiing the original post, I wonder about the term ‘fundamentalist’. Althouh it means ‘basic’ many of us now use it as meaning ‘literalist’. We need to clarify our meaning, I think.

Leave a Reply

