Link: Why I rejected religion and instead raised my son on Star Wars

Some fantastic thoughts on the troubles and the benefits of religion – and how to responsibly approach the subject with children.

May the 4th be with you.

This entry was posted in Connection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Link: Why I rejected religion and instead raised my son on Star Wars

  1. Strewth says:

    I find this admirable.

  2. Strewth says:

    My grandson’s school was instructed by his atheist parents to exclude him from religious instruction. Instead he was to do maths homework in the same classroom where he could hear the religious instruction. With his parents’ advise to take no notice of it, yet becomi g aware of it, he came to a midway conclusion that both held some truth, that there was some sort of force for good. I remeber him saying to me, ‘May the Force be with you.’

    • jasonjshaw says:

      Trying to prevent a child from participating in something seems to actually be a great way to make that child more receptive about what they are being excluded in.

      I wouldn’t be surprised if the general population become more like your grandson in coming generations, after the backlash against religion makes way for a more balanced approach to spirituality.

Leave a Reply

