What if Atheists embraced Bible teachings realistically?

Atheism tends to be seen more as a fight against religion.  It’s a fight that tends to bring deeper divide between the opposing viewpoints.

What if Atheists embraced the Bible and actually utilized it as a historical point in human understanding and used it is a basis for helping others understand morality more realistically?

Why try to run the train off the tracks when you can board it and divert its course?  It would be much more humane for those already aboard, wouldn’t it?

Isn’t that essentially what Jesus did?  He brought new understandings to replace the old, obsolete ones while maintaining a connection between them.

This entry was posted in Connection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What if Atheists embraced Bible teachings realistically?

  1. Soduhson says:

    A lot of atheists actually do this already whether consciously or not. This isn’t me giving the cliché “everyone believes on the inside” I’m saying they do see scripture for practical secular ethics. As well as scrutinize what they believe is out of date, etc.

    It’s practically a nonissue…

    • jasonjshaw says:

      I see your point, but I also see a lot of disconnect between secular ethics and Christian ethics. As both are predominant in Western society, I hope to see the continuing connection of middle ground.

      • Soduhson says:

        You know that I’m a conservative Christian for the most part, but even I’m aware that pound for pound you can find similar ethics in every religion/philosophy. Most atheists tend to be aware of this as well. The big difference is how the theological narrative fits into the ethics. Even Christian teachings on say, sexuality do fit into the secular narrative of self-control (albeit extreme for secular minds).

        I’m not really a “middle ground” kind of guy. I’m a “While I disagree with you, I’ll defend to the death your right to believe it.” Unfortunately, that’s not enough to many people.

      • jasonjshaw says:

        “While I disagree with you, I’ll defend to the death your right to believe it.”

        Sounds like middle ground to me! It’s the “I’m right, you’re wrong” attitudes that are where the big troubles lay.

  2. Howie says:

    I think this is a good point Jason. But one drawback is that some Christians might see this as a disingenuous approach, even though if looked at in the right way it really is not.

    I personally don’t want to fight against religion. I think there are some religions that are beautiful approaches to the world around us. Modern day Unitarian Universalism is probably the best example of this (and I’m sure that other religions have their liberal versions which are similar to UU). They believe in tolerance and respect for the value of all humans no matter what their “metaphysical” beliefs. They also believe in the continual pursuit of truth through science even if science ends up conflicting with their previously held beliefs. In the end they are so similar to secular humanism that it really doesn’t matter all too much. They just allow for their members to have beliefs that might even include gods and supernatural ideas as long as it adheres to the tolerance they uphold. I have no fight against this kind of religion. I don’t see how it goes against the values that I have which derive from my desires of a better world for all of us to live in. In fact I enjoy spending time with them because they are so open to seekers like myself (even though I currently am doubtful of the existence of a supernatural realm).

    Some atheists might not agree with me on this because they think these kinds of groups leave open the door for slipping into the dangerous and hurtful territory that more dogmatic groups fall into. But when value for ALL humans is what is first in a group’s beliefs then I just don’t think this “backdoor” is something to be too afraid of.

    • jasonjshaw says:

      I think you make a very good point, Howie. It’s probably a good thing that there are such a wide variety of beliefs as well so that the general consensus isn’t so easily hi-jacked and turned in a direction to serve some selfish needs. I would cite the advent of state-sponsored Shinto belief in Japan that led up to WWII as the problem with having a common shared belief.

  3. Arkenaten says:

    First of all you have to sell it to non-believers, and I don’t just mean people like me, try win over a Muslim.
    Then come back and we can have a grown up discussion on why this such a pointless exercise, not least because Jesus might very well be a fictitious character.

    Oh, thanks for the reblog by the way.

Leave a Reply

