fear of death and misbehaving

My apologies for the number of posts today, but I can’t pass this one up. Be warned, it’s no doubt on the Atheist side of things, but there seem to be some great points that are made.

violetwisp

misbehaving

Lurking around Christian posts can give a real insight into their preoccupations. Two things that stand out as particularly problematic for them are the looming thunderhead of death, and an intense fear that they can’t control their own behaviour.

I thought it might be interesting to compare my approach as a non-Christian on these two issues to those of god God-guided, eternal-life-believing Christians.

death

1. Me. I’m not afraid of dying. Seriously, I’m not. I didn’t exist when cavemen were around, when Romans were conquering or when the Inquisition was torturing. It didn’t bother me then, and it’s not going to bother me in 2130. I’m not afraid of suffering. I don’t enjoy it, or look forward to it. But I’ve been in so much pain I’ve wanted to die, and I’ve been threatened by an insane man with a club on a murderous rampage, so it’s not like death…

View original post 363 more words

This entry was posted in Illusion of Truth?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

