Walking the tightrope between Atheism and Christianity

In my journey to explore an uncommon view of Jesus, it seems to be a constant uphill battle.  Christians and Atheists alike seem to have issues with the ideas I am suggesting.  Of course, Christians and Atheists prefer to be on opposite sides of the fence with each other tossing their thoughts back and forth.  With all of the intensities being flung each way, I guess it should be no surprise that walking the tightrope in between would be a treacherous endeavour.

My thoughts go out to ‘chialphagirl’ and her blog Fluid Theology.  Her blog was another that walked the tightrope.  Unfortunately, the stress of being in the line of fire from both sides seemed to get to her and as of now, even her previous blog posts are inaccessible.  It’s a shame as she had some great though-provoking content.

I had some tests done at my chiropractor’s office the other day.  I have these tests done every year to see how my body is handling the stresses of life.  Up until this set of scans, every year was showing improvement.  This year, a clear regression.  When the results were being interpreted to me, the main issue was that even while at rest, my “fight or flight” response was very alert.

Now, I’ve only really had this blog active since September of last year, but I have a strong suspicion that it is the primary culprit for my “fight or flight” alertness.  Not to mention my forays into religious debate in other online forums.  It’s not an easy gig!  I have been feeling quite exhausted of late as well, though this harsh Canadian winter and being understaffed at work likely play a part as well.

I think I do need to take some added inspiration from Jesus upon this realization though.  Jesus seemed to walk a bit of a tightrope of his own.  How did he deal with having his senses constantly alert from being on his toes with his teachings and being on guard from some of the dangers he faced due to his proclamations?  He removed himself from the firing range whenever he had a chance!|

  • “But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.” ~ Luke 5:16 NIV

… and possibly for longer periods of time:

  • “Before daybreak the next morning, Jesus got up and went out to an isolated place to pray.  Later Simon and the others went out to find him.” ~ Mark 1:35-26 NLT

Seeking to bring better connection to humanity is a tough battle when we tend to like to choose sides and determine one as ‘right’ and one as ‘wrong’.  I would just like to encourage all those who walk the tightrope, especially chialphagirl if she’s still out there listening, that the fight for connection is not in vain.  I’d venture to say it was actually at the heart of Jesus’ intentions.  But we need to remember to take time away from it so we don’t lose our balance.

This entry was posted in Connection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walking the tightrope between Atheism and Christianity

  1. Howie says:

    Excellent post!! I feel much the same. Not sure I walk that tightrope as well as you do but I try. It’s not an easy thing to do.

  2. I like the thoughts here – I think that’s something we should all ponder: walking the tightrope. And I see how Jesus walked the tightrope as well. And yes, we all have to rest and recharge in quietness and stillness. As an introvert, I’m all for that!

Leave a Reply

