Would Heaven be shared with beings from other planets?

As it turns out, there are BILLIONS of Earth-like planets in our Galaxy (remember, there are also billions of galaxies in the universe).  This is breaking news in the science world.  See the following link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgqoB2kk8f8

So that makes me wonder, if Heaven does exist, how crowded is it really going to be?

This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Would Heaven be shared with beings from other planets?

  1. Yeah, I read that too. Of course, according to Scripture, we will live on Earth forever in a restored paradise. That should give us plenty of time to explore these planets…

    • jasonjshaw says:

      Ah, and if we are eternal, then the vast distances will no longer be an issue!

      • Marc says:

        I have often wondered whether our capacity to live in the spiritual and physical dimension in our glorified resurrection bodies would make the spiritual dimension function as a worm hole relative to locations in the physical cosmos

      • jasonjshaw says:

        I don’t think I can even wrap my mind around that comment!

      • Infinite time, infinite universe, and infinite knowledge. We’ll be making stargates using ducktape and paper clips.

      • jasonjshaw says:

        Ah! If everything’s taken care of in the afterlife and there are no longer challenges to face, wouldn’t it be a bit of a bland place to be?

      • There will be so much to do, though. Like a giant playground. It’s hard to imagine utopian existence like that, but I guess our perception will change. But we won’t be all-knowing, like God is described as, and nowhere does it say we will be. So, plenty to investigate, learn, experience, figure out. Boredom will never be a problem. If you can imagine it, you could make it happen…

      • jasonjshaw says:

        I don’t like the idea of infinite possibilities. It sounds more like Hell to me! How could you determine what a good thing to do is, especially if everything is a good thing to do?

      • Who knows? I’m just guessing. It’s not something I can fully wrap my mind around, because I have no way to relate to it. I would assume we are all clueless as to what it would be like. Better, but far different, than we can imagine. Whereas hell, in my mind, will be just like what we experience now, but slightly worse in every way. The vision of torment is just hyperbole, just as we use the word colloquially. I’d guess if there were such torment, it would be specially reserved for those we could 100% agree are deserving of such. Hitler, etc.

      • jasonjshaw says:

        That sounds like a cup half empty description of life as we know it! Hell is only a little worse?

        Actually, that brings to mind one of the few books I have actually read – Dante’s “Inferno”. The first band I played in was indirectly named after the book, and at one point I was given the book and was inspired enough to read it (I have very little patience when it comes to reading). Interesting book! Basically a guided tour through the layers of Hell! I never did get around to reading the “Heaven” and “Purgatory” segments of the series. Guess I’ll see about the wikipedia version of Heaven!

      • Hahaha! I know what you mean. I watched a movie a few years back, a wonderful dark comedy indie about hell as a slightly worse reality of the present. Everything was bland and nothing was quite finished or working properly. Everything leaked. Nothing was enjoyable. Everyone lived in worn-out shutterless houses and drove around on taped-together cars and beat-up semi-paved roads. No one smiled or laughed. Or cried. Or felt much of anything. Just a bland, no-frills, joyless, emotionless existence with no apparent purpose or direction. That, to me, is as hellish as it gets.

      • jasonjshaw says:

        So then there may not be any difference between Heaven and Hell then? Better line myself up to have some unfinished business here so I can find a nice place here to haunt!

      • Hahaha. Maybe!

        Nah, I would assume the plumbing and roads are better in “heaven” (New Earth).

  2. Perspective Collector says:

    Gotta love questions like these! I wonder what it will be like in terms of meeting everyone. Like will we know everyone simultaneously, will we never know everyone and just stick to a certain number of people?
    I wonder if we’ve got eternity to meet them all and delight in every person we meet – thus one of the ways heaven wouldn’t be boring.

Leave a Reply

