Idolatry may be rampant within Christianity

As I try to come to an understanding about the approach of the YouTube Evangelists I have been conversing with, I came back to my thought of idolatry within Christianity.

You know, the focus on Jesus being God, the focus on his death on the cross.  Aren’t these earthly things being raised up to God status?  Isn’t that idol worship?  Doesn’t Jesus warn against such things in the Bible?

21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’ ~ Matthew 7:21-23 (NIV)

I am beginning to understand why Jesus flipped out at the money changers in the temple.  It’s the only time I can recall that he showed negative emotion toward anything, and it was documented in all four Gospels.

Maybe it’s time to flip a few tables?

This entry was posted in Jesus Idolatry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

