Beware the tangled web of scripture

This post is inspired by a brief comment exchange between myself and chialphagirl about my initial blog post where I simplified the concepts of Christianity.

https://christianitysimplified.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/christian-beliefs-in-a-nutshell/

I ended up sharing that I had put my simplification forward to other members of the church I was attending.  These were members that knew their stuff.  It seemed as though such a simplification simply went way over their heads, as I never really received much of a response from any of them.  Maybe something along the lines of putting my faith in Jesus, you know, the good ol’ Christian invitation to understand what they understand.

I suggested maybe their beliefs were held up by the tangled web of scripture, where as I kept my eye on the source of the web during my studies.  I didn’t want to end up as spider bait!

To clarify this metaphor, I focused on Jesus.  The one that the web of scripture is built from.  It is easy to get lost in the majesty and complexities of scripture, but if you understand the heart of where it is coming from, you can come to a more thorough understanding, even when translations and interpretations bring more questions than answers.

This is where my simplification of Christianity comes from.  I welcome anyone and everyone to put it to the test.  I hope it can help paint a more clear and concise picture of the ideas Jesus was truly presenting.

This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beware the tangled web of scripture

  1. Arkenaten says:

    There is no Christianity without accepting that Jesus was/is god.
    As Paul said, without the resurrection we might as well pack up our sandwiches and go home.

    • jasonjshaw says:

      If Jesus is looked at not as God himself, but as a great messenger of God’s word, the only thing that damages is the arrogance of Christian believers – their key marketing gimmick that says “my religion is better than your religion” that from my perspective seems more like a crutch for the religion than a way to become closer to God.

      Just like in the Old Testament, when the people become arrogant, they fall away from God. When they are humble, they are closer to God.

      • Arkenaten says:

        But this is the perspective that Islam has of Jesus, and this would be considered anathema to Christians.
        How do you counter supposed claims that he himself states he is divine/god, especially in John.?

      • jasonjshaw says:

        I had real trouble when I first read John’s Gospel for the first time, especially having read the other Gospels first. John’s tone seemed more that of a storyteller than of someone sharing news with how he went above and beyond to embellish the supernatural aspects of Jesus.

        Maybe such a thought could open up opportunities for Christians and Muslims to compare notes?

      • Arkenaten says:

        John has a much more theological bent.

        But what do you think of the text in John?

      • jasonjshaw says:

        I think John’s writings made Christianity what it is today, for better or for worse. It seems to be the most widely referenced and most unearthly part of the New Testament. As someone who believes that magic can not defy natural laws, the Gospel of John brings out a lot of skepticism in me about his reporting of the events surrounding Jesus.

Leave a Reply

